Our Structure 

The Children's Commission is chaired by Justice Eva Guzman. Members include Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) and Child Protective Services (CPS) executive leadership, non-profit foundation and state bar leaders, private attorneys, legislators, judges and other elected officials, and other child welfare stakeholders. 

The Children's Commission is supported by a a 40-plus-member advisory group called the Collaborative Council. Members include child placing agencies, service providers, parent and child advocates, mental health, education, substance abuse, and immigration experts as well as children's advocacy centers and many other child-protection and child and family advocacy groups.

Four standing committees – Basic Projects, Technology, Training, and Foster Care and Education – oversee issue-specific workgroups and projects. The Commission also directs several other ad hoc committees and workgroups.

For a full Commission list of members, click here.

Texas Stamp
   Physical Address
    Children’s Commission
Supreme Court Building
201 W. 14th Street, Room 104
Austin, TX 78701
   Mailing Address
    Children’s Commission
P.O. Box 12248
Austin, TX 78711
(512) 463-5384
(512) 463-8895