Foster Care & Education

Implementation Task Force 

Texas Blueprint Implementation Task Force

In December 2012, the Supreme Court of Texas signed an order officially discharging the Education Committee from its duties and creating a new Texas Blueprint Implementation Task Force and Advisory Council to continue the collaboration begun by the Education Committee and to monitor the progress of implementation of the recommendations issued in the Texas Blueprint. The Texas Blueprint Implementation Task Force, chaired by the Honorable Rob Hofmann, former Education Committee member, included:

  • Hon. Alyce Bondurant, Child Protection Court of North Texas
  • Joy Baskin, Texas Association of School Boards
  • Edna Ramon Butts, Austin Independent School District
  • Cathy Cockerham, Texas CASA
  • Lori Duke, Clinical Professor, Children's Rights Clinic, UT School of Law
  • Maya Guerra Gamble, Attorney at Law
  • Jenny Hinson, Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
  • Judge Cathy Morris, Child Protection Court of South Texas
  • Wanda Pena, Casey Family Programs
  • Michael Redden, New Horizons
  • Jessica Sheely, University of Texas
  • Ian Spechler, Disability Rights Texas
  • Julie Wayman, Texas Education Agency

The Implementation Task Force met from January 2013 until December 2014, at which time it provided recommendations for future work to the Children's Commission. The Task Force created three workgroups, which were chaired by members of the Task Force, to help carry out its work:

  • Training and Resources Workgroup
  • School Stability Workgroup
  • Data Workgroup

An Advisory Council was also created to support the work of the Task Force and to provide guidance, as needed. Chaired by Judge Patricia Macias, former chair of the Education Committee, the Advisory Council included:

  • Hon. Cheryl Shannon, 305th District Court, Dallas
  • Commissioner John J. Specia, Jr., Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
  • Commissioner Michael Williams, Texas Education Agency
  • James B. Crow, Executive Director, Texas Association of School Boards
  • Dr. Johnny L. Veselka, Executive Director, Texas Association of School Administrators
  • Carolyne Rodriguez, Casey Family Programs
  • Vicki Spriggs, Texas CASA

Order Creating the Implementation Task Force

Task Force Implementation Plan, December 2014

Texas Blueprint Implementation Task Force Final Report

Texas Stamp
   Physical Address
    Children’s Commission
Supreme Court Building
201 W. 14th Street, Room 104
Austin, TX 78701
   Mailing Address
    Children’s Commission
P.O. Box 12248
Austin, TX 78711
(512) 463-5384
(512) 463-8895